1985: Night Shift (published by Brandon Publishers. Reissued Penguin, 1992)
1987: The Woman’s Daughter (published by Raven Arts Press, reissued by Penguin, 1992)
1990: The Journey Home, a novel (Published by Penguin Books)
1992: Emily’s Shoes, a novel (Published by Penguin Books)
1994: A Second Life, a novel  (Published by Penguin Books)
1997: Father’s Music, a novel (published by Flamingo/HarperCollins)
           Finbar’s Hotel, a collaborative novel published by Picador/New Island)
1999: Ladies Night at Finbar’s Hotel, Collaborative novel (editor) (published by Picador/New Island)
2000: The Temptation, (published by Flamingo/HarperCollins)
2001: The Valparaiso Voyage,  (Published by Flamingo, HarperCollins)
2005: The Family on Paradise Pier, (Fourth Estate/HarperCollins)
2010: A Second Life � a Renewed Novel (published by New Island)
2010: New Town Soul � a young adult novel (published by Little Island)
2012: The Fall of Ireland: A Novella (published by New Island)



1989: The Lament for Arthur Cleary (Project, Dublin Theatre Festival, Received Edinburgh Fringe First Award, Samuel Beckett             Prize  And Stewart Parker BBC Prize)
1990: Blinded by the Light, a play (Abbey Theatre at Peacock)   Received Listowel Prize & O Z Whitehead Prize)
            In High Germany, a play (Gate Theatre, Dublin, Dublin Theatre Festival)
           The Holy Ground, a play (Gate Theatre, Dublin)      Received Edinburgh Fringe First Award

1991: One Last White Horse, a play (Peacock, Dublin Theatre Festival)
1994: A Dublin Bloom, stage adaptation of Ulysses by James Joyce (Rosenbach Museum, Philadelphia)

1995: April Bright, a play (Peacock Theatre)
1996: Edward No Hands, television play (BBC2/RTE1)
1999: The Passion of Jerome, a play (Peacock Theatre)

2000: Consenting Adults, (Fishamble Theatre Company)

2004: From These Green Heights (Axis Art Centre, Ballymun, Received Irish Times/ESB Award for Best New Irish Play)
            The Woman’s Daughter (RTE Radio, BBC World Service, also broadcast on national radio in Canada, Australia,
            NewZealand and America –  Received Worldplay International Radio Prize)

2005: Hunger Again (BBC Radio 4)
            Departure (RTE Radio)
2006: The Fortunestown Kid (BBC Radio 4)
            The Townlands of Brazil (Axis, Ballymun, 2006/National Theatre of Poland, 2007)
2007: The Night Manager (BBC Radio 4)
2007: The Kerlogue (BBC Radio 4)

2007: Walking the Road (Axis Ballymun, toured to Belgium, England and USA)
2008: The Consequences of Lightning (Axis, Ballymun)
            Moving in Day (RTE Radio 1)
2010: The Parting Glass (Axis, Ballymun, toured Ireland and to New York)
2011: Accident and Emergency (R.T.E. Radio Drama)
2012: Tea Chests and Dreams (Axis Ballymun)
2012: Ulysses: a New adaptation of Joyce�s Novel (Produced by the Tron Theatre, Glasgow in association with the Project Art
            Centre, Dublin and The Everyman Palace, Cork)



1980: The Habit of Flesh, poems (Raven Arts Press)
1981: Finglas Lilies, poems (Raven Arts Press)
1982: No Waiting America, poems (Raven Arts Press)
1986: Internal Exiles, poems (published by Dolmen Press)
1989: Leinster Street Ghosts, poems (published by Raven Arts Press)
1998: Taking My Letters back, New & Selected Poems (published by New Island Books)
2004: The Chosen Moment (New Island Books)
2008: External Affairs (New Island/South Dublin County Council)
2012: The Venice Suite: A Voyage Through Loss (New Island)


2008: Night & Day: Twenty Four Hours in the Life of Dunbin (New Island/South Dublin County Council)


A.E. Memorial Prize
Macualay Fellowship
Samuel Beckett Prize,
Edinburgh Fringe First Awards in 1990 & 1995,
BBC Stewart Parker BBC Prize.
The O.Z. Whitehead Prize
The Sunday Tribune Arts Award
Inaugural Hennessy Hall of Fame Irish Literature Award.
Irish Times ESB Award for Best New Irish Play 2005
Worldplay International Radio Drama Prize 2005
Commentator of the Year at Irish National Newspaper Awards


The Hughes & Hughes Irish Fiction Prize
The Irish Times/Aer Lingus Irish Fiction Prize
The Kerry Group Novel of the year Prize, 2006

1992: Selected Poems of Francis Ledwidge (Introduced by Seamus Heaney)
1993: The Picador Book of Contemporary Irish Fiction,
1994: Ireland in Exile
1995: The Vintage Book of Irish Fiction (New York)
1996: The Hennessy Book of Irish Fiction
2000: The New Picador Book of Irish Fiction
Druids, Dudes & Beauty Queens:
The Changing Face of Irish Theatre
2005: The New Hennessy Book of Irish Fiction
2006: County Lines: A Portrait of South Dublin County Through Its Writers
2007: The Ledwidge Treasury.
2008: Night & Day: Twenty Four Hours in the life of Dublin


Writer Fellow, Trinity College, Playwright in Association with Abbey Theatre
Writer in Residence, South Dublin County Council


French, Swedish, German, Italian, Greek, Serbian, Japanese, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hindi.